Criminal Procedure Rule Committee Non-Judicial Member Re-appointments (Reappointment)

Body: Ministry of Justice
Appointing Department: Ministry of Justice
Sector: Judicial, Prison & Policing
Location: London
Skills required: Regulation
Number of Vacancies: 2


An announcement has been made on the outcome of this appointment.

The Secretary of State has approved the re-appointment of Nick Ephgrave and Folashade Abiodun, for four years from 1 September 2021.

The Courts Act 2003 established the CPRC to make rules governing the practice and procedure of magistrates’ courts, the Crown Court and the Court of Appeal, Criminal Division.

The Act requires the CPRC, which is chaired by the Lord Chief Justice, to make rules that are simple and simply expressed, and that help make the criminal justice system accessible, fair and efficient.


Nick Ephgrave is currently the Assistant Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police. He was the Senior Investigating Officer on the re-investigation into the murder of Damilola Taylor.

Nick has been in the police service for more than 30 years and was previously the Chief Constable of Surrey Police. Since June 2020, he has been a member of the Sentencing Council.

He has not declared any political activity.

Folashade Abiodun is a Solicitor-Advocate (all Higher Courts) at Taylor Haldane Barlex Solicitors LLPSince qualifying as a solicitorsin 2007, she became an Accredited Police Station Representative and obtained her Duty Solicitor and HCA (Civil & Crime) qualifications while working at a busy practice in Leicester.

Folashade has a vast wealth of experience in representing clients at the Police Station, Youth, Magistrates and Crown Courts.

She has not declared any political activity.

These appointments are regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments. The re-appointments have been made in line with the Governance Code on Public Appointments.

Appointments to the CPRC are made by the Lord Chancellor in consultation with the Lord Chief Justice for England and Wales.

Date: 07/09/2021

This is a reappointment

Return to Search