NHS England and NHS Improvement - Non-Executive Directors (Reappointment)

Appointing Department: Department of Health and Social Care
Number of Vacancies: 1


An announcement has been made on the outcome of this appointment.


Rakesh Kapoor has temporarily transferred as a Non-Executive Director from NHS England to NHS Improvement from 1 May 2021 until 31 March 2022. From 1 April 2022, he will revert back to his role as a Non-Executive Director of NHS England for the remainder of his current term, until 31 December 2023.

Laura Wade-Gery has been re-appointed as a Non-Executive Director of NHS England for 2 years from 1 August 2021.

Sir Andrew Morris and Professor Sir Munir Pirmohamed have been re-appointed as Non-Executive Directors of NHS Improvement for 2 years from 1 August 2021, and 1 January 2022, respectively.

The appointments of Lord Ara Darzi as a Non-Executive Director of NHS England; and Lord Patrick Carter and Oluwole Kolade as Non-Executive Directors of NHS Improvement have all been extended until 31 March 2022.

All the appointments will continue to involve a time commitment of 2 to 3 days per month. Remuneration for the roles will be at a rate of £7,883 per annum. Oluwole Kolade has confirmed that he does not intend to take the remuneration.  

In line with the Governance Code on public appointments, the Department consulted the Commissioner for Public Appointments on the transfer of Rakesh Kapoor’s appointment and the extensions of the previous transfers of appointment of Professor Sir Munir Pirmohamed, Lord Ara Darzi and Laura Wade-Gery. The Commissioner was content. The transfers were to ensure both NHS England and NHS Improvement boards remained quorate through to 2022 and the establishment of the new NHS England board.

The appointments were made on merit and political activity played no part in the decision process. However, in accordance with the Code, there is a requirement for appointees’ political activity (if any declared) to be made public. Rakesh Kapoor, Laura Wade-Gery, Sir Andrew Morris, Professor Sir Munir Pirmohamed and Lord Ara Darzi have not declared any political activity. Lord Carter is a Labour Peer and Lord Darzi is an Independent. If an individual has made a donation to a political party within the last five years above the threshold for declaration, we are also required as part of the Code to declare it. Oluwole Kolade has made a donation to the Conservative Party.  

Date: 09/07/2021

View Announcement

These are re-appointments, extensions and a transfer of Non-Executive Directors of NHS England and NHS Improvement

Return to Search