Reappointments of National Park Authorities - Secretary of State Members (Reappointment)

Body: National Park Authorities (NPA)
Appointing Department: Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs
Sector: Environment, Food & Rural Affairs
Location: Various
Number of Vacancies: N/A
Remuneration: These positions are non-salaried but certain allowances are available, if needed.
Time Requirements: Lake District National Park Authority: 4-6 days per month, Peak District National Park Authority: 3-4 days a month, Yorkshire Dales National Park Authority: 2-3 days per month.


An announcement has been made on the outcome of this appointment.

The Environment Secretary, George Eustice, has made a series of appointments and reappointments to England’s National Park Authorities (NPAs) and Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB) Conservation Boards.

All appointments are made on merit and the appointments comply with the Ministerial Code of Governance on Public Appointments. All appointees have declared that they have not taken part in any significant political activity in the past five years.

The following members have been re-appointed for further four-year terms:

Peak District NPA
Ken Smith

North York Moors NPA
Patrick James

Yorkshire Dales NPA
Julie Hutton

The following members were re-appointed for further three-year terms:

Chilterns AONB Conservation Board
Colin Courtney
Paul Mainds
John Nicholls
John Shaw

Cotswolds AONB Conservation Board
Brendan Costelloe
Graham Hopkins

The following member was re-appointed for a third term of one year:

Northumberland NPA
Fiona Gough

The following member was re-appointed for a third term until 9 June 2023:

Northumberland NPA
Jean Davidson

Date: 03/08/2022

View Announcement

Vacancy Description


Additional Information


How to Apply


This is a reappointment

Return to Search